Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.
Bishop Payne Library
Thursday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
EDT

Databases

Expand All
49 results found
A

African American Historical Serials

Description

The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) helped develop this full-text collection of periodicals documenting the history of African American life and religious organizations from 1829 to 1922. The titles were collected from 75 institutions.

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries

Description

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship and draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. It includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible.

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)

Description

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.  The ARDA is generously supported by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton FoundationChapman UniversityPennsylvania State University and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

ATLA Christian Preaching, Worship, and Piety, 1680-1919

Description

The Christian Preaching, Worship, and Piety, 1559-1919 collection contains over 3,000 titles reflecting how Christians lived out their faith in the form of sermons, worship, and piety. Sermons were a primary tool for teaching moral and spiritual lessons. The collection features over 700 texts of either individual or collected sermons from over 400 authors, including Lyman Beecher, Henry Ward Beecher, Dwight Lyman Moody, Charles Grandison Finney, Friedrich Schleiermacher, and Francis Xavier Weninger. The collection also highlights various aspects of worship and liturgy spanning Christian history from early Christian Worship to the liturgies of the "St. Thomas Christians" in India to more modern baptismal and sacramental practices. Piety, or the reverent living of one's faith, is one aim of both preaching and worship. The collection also offers generous holdings focused on Christian piety and forming and educating a person to live a life of faith. A breadth of subjects are represented here, including prayer, apologetics, ecumenical concerns, evangelistic work, revivals, and monastic and religious orders. Authors include J.R. Miller, A.B. Simpson, F.X. Weninger, and Adolf von Harnack. For theological works related to these themes, please see the collection titled Global Theological Perspectives, 1322-1922.

ATLA Missions and Missionaries Around the World, 1611-1922

Description

The Missions and Missionaries Around the World, 1611-1922 collection contains over 2,000 titles that tell the stories of various Christian missions and missionaries throughout the world, focusing on the 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection features both foreign missions to over 50 countries and domestic, or "home missions," within North America and Europe. The 19th century ushered in a more global awareness of different cultures and peoples and the Christian missionary response was to reach out to those cultures and peoples. Foreign countries in this outreach include efforts to India, China, Africa, Korea, and Japan, as well as more remote destinations such as Guyana, Tahiti, and the Marquesas Islands. Domestic "home" missions include missions to Native Americans as well as outreach within the UK and Germany. Prominent missionary organizations include American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions and the China Inland Mission. Prominent authors include Morris Officer, Robert E. Speer, Adrien Launay, and St. Francis Xavier. Many Christian traditions are featured in the collection, including the Catholic Church, Presbyterian Church in the USA, Lutheran Church, Orthodox Church.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus

Description
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains a more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Bloomsbury Theology and Religion Online

Description

Bloomsbury ebooks including the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary, Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries, the T&T Clark Jesus Library and T&T Clark Theology Library. Access for VTS students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

Britannica Academic

Description

With contributions from Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors and other notable experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights.

Browzine

Description

Browzine offers an alternative to the "current periodicals shelves", allowing you to browse tables of contents from many of our electronic subscriptions. There are mobile device apps that also have the ability to send alerts when a new issue is found in the database.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Description

The definitive guide to creating citations and bibliographies in University of Chicago format, available full-text online.

China Historical Christian Database (CHCD)

Description

The China Historical Christian Database (CHCD) quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China (1550-1950). It provides users the tools to discover where every Christian church, school, hospital, orphanage, publishing house, and the like were located in China, and it documents who worked inside those buildings, both foreign and Chinese. Collectively, this information creates spatial maps and generates relational networks that reveal where, when, and how Western ideas, technologies, and practices entered China. Simultaneously, it uncovers how and through whom Chinese ideas, technologies, and practices were conveyed to the West.

This project breaks new ground in providing quantifiable data about modern Sino-Western relations. Its intuitive interface generates visualizations, lists, and maps for use by the general public, students and teachers in secondary education and colleges, in the US and globally, with English and Chinese navigation. Advanced DH users have open access to its data for elaboration. BU’s digital infrastructure guarantees long-term sustainability, and CHCD’s international collaborations in the USA, Asia, and Europe help promote historical understanding between China and the rest of the world.

The CHCD is hosted by the Center for Global Christianity and Mission at Boston University.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Description

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) is a digital library that provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts. 

Classic Sermon Index

Description

This database indexes over 52000 historic sermons by author, title, primary biblical text, and date. It includes topical indexing for over 20,000 of the sermons. Citations are hyperlinked to full text for 75% of the content.

Digital Karl Barth Library

Description

This resource includes The Church Dogmatics in English and the original German, as well as the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.

Directory of Open Access Books

Description

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Description

Encyclopaedia Britannica is a comprehensive general encyclopedia with full-text articles and links to recommended websites on every topic.

ERIC

Description
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Flipster

Description

Access the latest issues of The Christian Century and Christianity Today.

GlobeTheoLib

Description

The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism (GlobeTheoLib) is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to full-text articles, journals, books and other resources on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Participants also have the possibility to contribute their own documents to the library.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Description

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

JSTOR Religion and Arts and Sciences III Collections

Description
VTS' JSTOR subscription includes the Religion and Theology and Arts & Sciences III collections. These offer full-text electronic access to over 320 academic journals in religion, languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, feminist & women's studies, performing arts, and the history and study of art and architecture. Because JSTOR’s mission is archival, there is a gap, typically from one to five years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.

BPL subscribes to only two of the collections in this resource, articles in other collections will give citation information only.

Kanopy Streaming Video

Description

Includes many educational videos on religion and content from companies from PBS to the Great Courses, as well as classic and international film.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Description

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). They support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Search the 6,448,541 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive.

New Testament Abstracts

Description

An electronic collection of abstracts of articles, reviews, and software and more than 18,900 book summaries related to New Testament studies.

Old Testament Abstracts

Description

An electronic collection of abstracts of articles, essays, and software and more than 7,900 book summaries related to Old Testament studies.

Open Access Digital Theological Library

Description

The Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) collects content in religious studies without regard for theological or confessional perspective. OADTL collections are composed primarily of books and articles. The collections are ecumenical, global, and interreligious and include materials in all languages (as long as that content meets the criteria listed).

OpenDissertations (EBSCO)

Description

OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Description

This database provides a comprehensive collection of materials on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture, including primary source documents, articles, images, charts, maps, and tables.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Description

58,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Oxford English Dictionary (the OED)

Description

A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary (OED) with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)

Description

Oxford Music Online provides full-text resources for music research including full-text articles and biographies from the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

Philosopher's Index with Full Text (EBSCO)

Description

The Philosopher’s Index covers all fields of philosophy and related disciplines and features research published since 1940. The publications covered in this comprehensive database hail from 139 countries and appear in 37 languages. The library has a single user license to this database.

Project Gutenberg

Description

Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.

Project Muse

Description

Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

PsycArticles

Description

APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

Description

Ebsco Religion includes very timely coverage of recent full-text religion articles from 300 journals. It is supplementary to ATLA RDB, but can be searched simultaneously.

Religion Database (ProQuest)

Description

ProQuest Religion provides indexing and full-text articles from 90 journals, magazines and newspapers in the field of religion. Coverage is 1986 - present, and indexing is very current.

Research in Ministry

Description

This database indexes Doctor of Ministry and Doctor of Missiology theses from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, abstract and subject access are provided. Remote access is available to all. The interface was completely revamped for 2019.

SeLaDoc: La Base de datos de Teología Latinoamericana

Description

Published by the Department of Theology at the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, SeLaDoc is an open access reference database which includes unpublished titles of most of the journals of theology and pastoral reflection of Latin America and the Caribbean. This database is open to any reader and is useful for anyone interested in religious and theological topics in general, or in Latin American theological production. - from EBSCO

St. Andrew's Encyclopedia of Theology

Description

The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology will ultimately incorporate intellectual content from all major religious traditions, with an emphasis on material being written by scholars for whom these traditions are alive. Engagement will proceed in distinct stages: an initial phase, assembling a network of Senior Editors and advisors, and a main phase, in which articles are commissioned and authored.

At present, the Encyclopaedia is engaging with the following traditions:

Twentieth Century Religious Thought (Alexander Street)

Description

A multivolume, cross-searchable collection covering the major strains and new directions in religious questioning that have often altered the very framework of given traditions. In addition to studying scholars' ideas separately, researchers can explore broader schools of thought to examine how different theories, denominations, faiths, and political and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another. Once completed, the four volumes of Twentieth Century Religious Thought will constitute a major resource on all aspects of theological thought, dialogue, and experience across cultures, laying the foundation for historical and contemporary understandings.

WorldCat

Description

A world-wide bibliographic database compiling the holdings of thousands of libraries. VTS patrons can use WorldCat to place electronic interlibrary loan requests. Includes ArticleFirst, a source of article citations on a wide range of subjects.